Greatness Starts @Home


Greatness Starts @Home

How does a child makes a mother proud?

Does the child have to be a genius? Have to show unique talents or skills? Or be an academic achiever?

Honestly, I don’t really know. All I know is that I’m a proud mother of a lovely girl and that I’ll continue to be as long as I lived.๐Ÿ™‚

Let me introduce to you my lovely daughter, Maia Ysabelle. She is now 2 and 6 months old now.

My daughter came unexpectedly but in the right, no, perfect time.

I was 23, breadwinner and unwed. ย Scared was an over-rated word to describe when we learned of our pregnancy. ย We thought of how our family would react. On top of that, I have no idea how to raise a child. I don’t even know how to hold them! Acceptance and the knowing that she is made from love really helped us get through it. ย All I can say is that she is an angel, God’s blessing.

You know mother instinct? It’s real. It came naturally.

Her first cry, for me, is her first achievement. I realized that her first cry is a sign that she is now ready to live and face this crazy world. Then I pray, Lord equip me to give this lovely child the life that You planned for her. And I know He did.

Her first smile, her first crawl, her first word (just to share, it’s “uhmm Ma!”๐Ÿ™‚ ), her first step, first hair cut happened at home. I say, seeing and sharing these moments are among the greatest achievements every mother can be proud of.

You see, I’m a working mom. And finding the time to see these moments is no easy task. Since her birth, I already had 4 different jobs. And finding the job that works for us is really difficult. I don’t ever want to feel againย the heartache whenever I leave, she’s crying and saying, “Ayaw kong alis mommy!” (Don’t want mommy to go!) or that I’ll get home, she’s sleeping and when I leave from work, she’s still sleeping. Fortunately, God blessed me with a job that I can still have time for my child.

Let me share one special moment that made me feel that we are on the right track raising her.

She loves Disney Princesses and one time we were watching Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. The scene was when Snow White was lying in the coffin. It’s raining, the dwarfs and animals are crying.

Ysa said: “Iyak sila.” (They’re crying.)

I said: Kasi natutulog si Snow White. (Because Snow White is sleeping.)

Ysa: Hindi, kasi basa sila. Dapat payong sila. (No, they’re getting wet [the rain] . They should have umbrellas.)

The logic! She’s seeing the whole picture not just that one event. And she was only 2 yrs old and 2 months when she said these.

Her sympathy, empathy, sweetness, her understanding of the world, makes me feel proud. Yes, she is still a child, no different from the other kids. She can be naughty, throwing tantrums but she’s my child. She’ll always be different, unique and special in my eyes.

Now, she loves to scribble, knows to sing nursery rhymes, knows where her books are and read them, plays with puzzles, know the ABC song by heart, ย count 1 to 15, play with friends, ย still exploring and learning new things. ย I am proud that we’re part of her life and that we’re being blessed to guide her.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We don’t have a house, we have home because of her. And our home is filled with her laughter, smile and cries. From this, we’ll make a foundation, a start for having and achieving her dreams and wants, her bright future. I don’t know exactly how, but I know we’ll get through this together.

3 thoughts on “Greatness Starts @Home

  1. thanks. never really thought of that in that kind of way๐Ÿ™‚

    i just want to be able to raise her as a good person who can be proud of herself… you know, knows the difference of right from wrong and be able to stand in her beliefs.

    Thank you again! :))

Leave a Reply

