Revisiting the Past: A trip to Corregidor Island


Last week, my manager came to the Philippines to do some training on my new team mates. It’s hard having a remote and very keen manager. i’ve always been corrected with my work and all, don’t blame them, i am not that focus, maybe, just maybe i’m a little irritated this past few months.

Anyways, since our team is getting bigger, he decided to have a teambuilding. Typically, for team bonding are lunch or dinner meetings and bowling.πŸ™‚ But he is interested in history, nature and birds so we thought of a place near Manila where we could bring him. We decided and suggested a day tour in Corregidor. It’s like hitting two birds in one stone. It is just a 90-boat or cruise ride from Manila.

Corregidor Island is an entry island before coming to Manila Bay and Northern Luzon. With its strategic position, this is island was fortified with so many military artillery, guns and canons. This island has seen so many wars in the Philippine history from the Spanish colonization, Japanese war and American regime.

A day before our trip, a tropical passed through our country, we belittled the idea of the sea to have such strong currents and waves. On the way, we all had sea sickness.

This is my second time to island so i know what to expect. Here are some highlights on our tripπŸ™‚.

THE WAR MEMORIAL ZONE

Old Barracks

Battery Way – 1913

Pacific War Memorial

Eternal Flame of Freedom

Corregidor Lighthouse

Japanese Memorial

Filipino Heroes Memorial

During our visit, the works or Lideo Mariano is presented which depicts the situation of the Filipinos during the wars. (I think, I’ll post a separate item for this.:))

Malinta Tunnel

THE WILD LIFE

I expected birds but I didn’t expect the monkeys, just roaming around, free.πŸ™‚

I’m so proud of this shot because this was taken while we were on the tram and he just surprised us!

After a full day of site-seeing, learning history all over again, gaining new in-sites, and re-gaining respect for our heroes, my love for my country is a-flame again. The freedom that we enjoy now is because of them, so i think it is one thing i am thankful for. And another thing to add to my prayers, I pray that my fellow countrymen respect and learn our history and I also pray that we prioritize our nature, history and culture. I believe it is our greatest treasure.πŸ™‚

One thing to teach my child and future children.πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Revisiting the Past: A trip to Corregidor Island

  1. Brilliant post about a great excellent teambuilding day, have been to those ones too with bowling and drinking until breakfast. – been to cabarets and horseraces … but never to culture, history and nature. Brilliant photos. Thanks for taking me there. Really good post.

  2. thank you! got too many pictures, but don’t want to put them in one post. picture overload.πŸ™‚

    i’ll try to go out and just take some pictures!πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

