red apples


Anyone can count the seeds in an apple, but only God can count the number of apples in a seed. — Robert H. Schuller

Did I ever mentioned that my daughter likes fruits?

First thing, she says when she sees me is to ask for “pasalubong”, a gift. And most of the time I give her fruits.

I grew up in a community wherein we can just pick fruits from their trees. Our old house was surrounded by these fruit bearing trees: santol, langka (jackfruit), rambutan, indian mango, chico, star apples, lanzones, sampalok, coconut… you name it! I love the summer ’cause it’s their season. I remember, I love langka so much, that my father would make sure that one fruit is just for me. He’ll cover it with plastic so no insects or birds would eat it while it ripe. It was near my bedroom window.

I love the fact that my daughter like fruits and vegetable than processed food. And cakes and ice cream of course. Funny, the day before she asked me for grapes and a huge cake. But it’s not the season and both grapes and cakes are are kinda pricey for one day “pasalubong” so I huddled her to ask for an apple instead. When I got home, all drippy and wet, she said: “Bakit di mo ko binili ng grapes?” (Why did you bought me grapes?) She remembered what she really wants. And in the our evening prayer before going to bed, she said “Papa Jesus, sana lagi akong mabait. Saka gusto ko ng cake, yung malaki!” (Papa Jesus, I pray that I’ll be obedient and I want a cake, a huge one!)

Ah, she never fails to make me smile.🙂

7 thoughts on “red apples

  1. children never forget what is important…
    we could learn so much by remembering the child’s innocense
    I hadn’t thought about how many apples come from a seed..
    I like that!.
    Thank you for a thought provoking post..
    I enjoyed it and learned a new thought
    Take care…
    )0(
    ladybluerose

Leave a Reply

