My stand on RH Bill


I am educated. Graduated from one of the top universities in the country and have a stable job.

But at 27, I am a single mother and still a breadwinner for my family.

I find myself fortunate enough to provide for the immediate needs of my child. She is studying in a public preschool. I’m still renting an apartment cities away from my work just to save for the rent. Still commutes. Just barely making it with the monthly bills. Have zero savings. But I feel and know that we are blessed.

This is not the case for the other thousands of women who have not known the pro’s and con’s of PMS. Wives who have no idea nor arms-reach to contraceptives. Women who have n-number of children.

Let’s face it people: Philippines is a third world developing country who faces massive corruption problems. Dissemination of information such as knowledge concerning the reproductive health needs time, money, determination, love for fellow countrymen/women and effort. I believe this law will not kill babies. This will help women have a choice.

I once attended a marriage seminar (I am legally married) and yes, they provide context about sex and the likes. But these options will not reach our unfortunate countrymen. Church offers a good option and a moral choice. It’s good but let’s consider that not all Filipino goes to church. I am not condemning the “so-called” sinners. Again, most people don’t have knowledge, no means. It’s okay to preach. But it is the states/government duty to protect and provide its people. And this law is long overdue. We need change– NOW!

I am a sinner and paying for the consequences of my actions. But I still have a voice as concern for my fellow Filipino women who need this service.

Many statistics and studies have been said and done. Many voiced their opinions, showed evidences and proofs. Resources may be scarce. But one change can make a ripple effect. Currently, we still are running in circles. Let’s stop this hindrance of ignorance.

It’s time for change. Serve the people. Yes to RH Bill.

Image

Must READ:

2 thoughts on “My stand on RH Bill

  1. A very powerful post … and I’m glad that things are changing in most cultures. ‘
    I think the woman should have the right … to protect herself from unwanted babies … because think that is what the bill is about – and sexual education … sexual health care.
    Kill babies ??? That is only done through abortion, is that what they are taking about too???
    Still I think a woman should decide over her life, mind and body.

  2. i admit, our country is still conservative and the church has a voice. it’s still an argument when is the actual conception of life.

    objectivists see that there is no budget and this bill will make people expect too much from the government.

    some think it will open up to more PMS because contraceptives will be much available (i think this will not be the case.)

    i firmly believe that this is just to give options and knowledge to my fellow Filipino women
    (more on wives and mothers). they may not chose the family they are born to but they can have a say to her future family.

    and i really think that this won’t necessarily BE the solution but it’s a step to change and progress.

Leave a Reply

